Ridgefield Public Schools Website

 

SUMMARY OF SCHOOL START TIMES COMMITTEE PRESENTATION FROM 9/11/17 BOE MEETING

At the September 11 Board of Education meeting, Consultant Jonathan Costa presented several school start times change scenarios to the Board. These scenarios grew out of the work of the School Start Times Steering Committee. Additional options were discussed by the Committee, but the four options presented were deemed to be the most desirable/viable.


Option 1 (referred to as 1C in packet):
RHS – 8:30am-3:20pm
ERMS/SRMS – 7:55am-2:45pm
BES/RES/SES – 8:50am-3:40pm
BMES/FES/VPES – 9:15am-4:05pm
 Projected Cost = $90,000 savings vs. 2017-18 transportation budget

 


Option 2 (referred to as 1E)

RHS – 8:25am-3:15pm

ERMS/SRMS – 8:50am-3:40pm

BES/RES/SES – 7:40am-2:30pm

BMES/FES/VPES – 8:00am-2:50pm

 Projected Cost = $900,000 additional cost vs. 2017-18 transportation budget


Option 3 (referred to as 2A)

RHS – 8:25am-3:15pm
ERMS/SRMS – 8:55/9:00am-3:45/3:50pm

BES/BMES/RES – 7:35am-2:25pm

FES/SES/VPES – 8:00/8:05am-2:50/2:55pm


Projected Cost = $540,000 additional cost vs. 2017-18 transportation budget

Option 4 (referred to as 2A Original)

RHS – 8:35am-3:25pm
ERMS/SRMS – 9:10am-4:00pm

BES/BMES/RES – 7:35am-2:25pm

FES/SES/VPES – 8:00/8:05am-2:50/2:55pm

Projected Cost = $180,000 savings vs. 2017-18 transportation budget

 


 

IMPORTANT DATES

 

September 18, 7pm (ERMS) – Dr. Jennifer Papa Kanaan will present information regarding adolescent sleep research and how it relates to school start times (presented by BOE Start Time Steering Committee); 

September 25 (tentative) – survey to parents and RHS students regarding certain school start time scenarios; this survey will be used as a data point for the BOE in deciding which start time scenario to implement for 2018-19;


September 25, 7:30pm (BOE Annex) – Board of Education Meeting

October 10, 7:30pm (BOE Annex) – Board of Education Meeting

October 23, 7:30pm (BOE Annex) – Board of Education Meeting – at this meeting, the Board is scheduled to decide which school start time scenario to implement for the 2018-19 school year; the BOE could decide not to change start times and to maintain the status quo; the selected start time structure will be incorporated into the proposed 2018-19 budget upon which all taxpayers will vote in May

 


WHAT SHOULD PARENTS DO?

 

It is important that parents inform themselves about the school start time discussion!

 

Review the September 11 BOE meeting packet (link above).

 

Review the RPS School Start Time Project webpage and linked materials (link above).

 

Attend the presentation of Dr. Jennifer Papa Kanaan.

 

Attend or watch upcoming BOE meetings. You can follow the meetings online (http://www.ridgefield.org/Board_of_Education) or via Twitter @RidgefieldPS, #ridgefieldBOE and #ridgefieldps.

 

If parents wish to have their opinions heard, they should attend the September 25, October 10 and/or October 23 BOE meetings and speak during the public comment period. Parents can also email the members of the BOE to share their views.

The emails are listed below.

 

A high participation rate for the survey is crucial. Parents should complete the survey promptly, completely and honestly. If there is a free response option provided, parents should share their specific feedback there.

 

Frances Walton (BOE Chair): fwalton@ridgefieldps.net

James Keidel (Vice Chair): jkeidel@ridgefieldps.net

Michael Taylor (Secretary): mtaylor@ridgefieldps.net

Stephanie Bell: sbell@ridgefieldps.net
David Cordisco: dcordisco@ridgefieldps.net

Tracy O’Connor: toconnor@ridgefieldps.net

Douglas Silver: dsilver@ridgefieldps.net

Sharon D’Orso: sdorso@ridgefieldps.net

Margaret Stamatis: mstamatis@ridgefieldps.net

 


 

 


 

Have a child at ERMS or RHS?  

If you have other children at East Ridge Middle School or Ridgefield High School, just click the links below to be takes to the PTA website for that school!

 

East Ridge Middle School

Ridgefield High School